Winter Storm

RSP - Reinhold Staden Photography - Winter Storm
Develop my personal style

Image 4/20 – An image you might have seen before. I had one shot only. Heavy wind and rain. LEE Filter: ND Grad and Big Stopper. Long exposure: 30 seconds. Used my body and a big umbrella to cover the camera and tripod. Pier was shaking. After this one shot camera and lens and filter were wet. Couldn’t wait to get home to see if I managed to get a decent shot. It fits into my new style. No major adjustments to the image. That’s the reason why I post it again.

This image is part of my series: Develop my personal style

If you like to see the other images of my series… there is a new gallery in the sidebar of my blog. I will add each new image on a daily basis.

21 thoughts on “Winter Storm

  1. Kann mich noch gut an das Foto erinnern… …und bin schon wieder auf’s neue beeindruckt von der Hingabe mit der du die Fotos machst. Du hast da wirklich deine ganz eigene Sprache entwickelt, ein ganz eigenes Spiel mit den Ebenen und Räumen. Beeindruckend auch, dass du kaum nachbearbeitet hast.
    Liebe Grüße, Markus

    • Vielen Dank, Markus… und sorry für die späte Antwort. Aber die “Arbeit” hat mich gerufen. 16 Störche in der Balz. Und ich bin ganz nah rangekommen. Bin begeistert über diese “flying objects”. Aber erst mal vielen Dank für Deinen lieben Kommentar. Die Arbeit an meinem “persönlichen Stil” macht sehr viel Spaß. Mal schauen wo mich das hinbringt. Mach es gut und bis demnächst! Liebe Grüsse. Reinhold

  2. I love this photo! No raindrops because the rain stopped for a while?
    I have a question: should we worry about getting our camera wet? I always worry about that…
    Thanks in advance.

    • Hi, Helen, glad you like it. A 30 second exposure wouldn’t show a boat passing by. Raindrops just disappear. If you want to shoot a plaza at night without any people… Try a long exposure – 30 seconds or more. They will all disappear. In my case I have a weather sealed camera. The Fuji X-T1. The body could handle wet conditions. The problem was my lens. The one I used is not weather sealed. But it could handle some rain as well. A long exposure in daylight requires a neutral density filter (very dark glass) in a holder mounted to the front of the lens. This glass got wet after the shot. Like water on the front screen of your car. Getting this filter dry again is next to impossible in these conditions. Game over. Your camera manual should tell you if your camera is protected or not. Check the manual of your lens as well. If both are protected light rain shouldn’t stop you. If not you better use protection like a plastic bag. If you want me to check it for you… Sent me your camera and lens details. Smiles. Reinhold

      • Thank you so much, Reinhold. You’ve taught me more than I dared to ask (I tried not to ask too many questions ;-). I definitely want to give it a try to see people disappear from my photo 😉 It is totally opposite from I thought. Ha.
        In my mind, I see a house with several your photos hanging on the wall (have I said that already?) I love that peaceful and tranquil feeling.
        Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

