My current workflow…

Today I like to share my current workflow with you.

All my 50K images are downloaded with Adobe Bridge (BR) from my cameras (Fuji X-T1 / X100) to the file system of Disk 1 (my work disk) in RAW format. Previously I loaded all the images into LR, but 50K images are too many to work in a timely and effective way. I have to use the bin more often in the future. In parallel they are stored on my backup disk… before deletion… just in case.

Those images “I like to work with” are loaded into Adobe Lightroom (LR) and receive all requires META (copyright, photographer, location,…) data in this process. They will be placed in folders and collections for future use. Currently I have 10K images in LR, which are far to many. I am working on that “problem” in the moment. The library and images are backed up on a regular basis to disk 2.

The keepers of the last 18 months go into Adobe Photoshop (PS) and will be stored in the file system of my work disk in PSD format. I have about 200 images in these “gallery” folders. Here I hope to increase the number in the next months. But all these images have received extensive post processing and sharpening and noise reduction for printing. Most of these images have never seen the internet and will not in the future. The PSD files are backed up on a regular basis to disk 2.

Images which will go to my internet sites, which before went into my WordPress blog (next post) will be exported from LR in different orientations and sizes. But all of them are JPG files. I create no backup of these files, because they can be recreated easily.

The hardest part is the decision which file goes from left to right. Images I did not like 18 months ago are suddenly gallery images. And the other way round. Are you using a similar process? What are your criteria to go from left to right?

But may be this can only be answered if we look at the target systems. But I will leave this to my next post.

Smiles.
Reinhold

Workflow Reinhold Staden Photography
Workflow Reinhold Staden Photography

12 thoughts on “My current workflow…

  1. I use almost the same process as yours. Except, all my files in Lr were disappeared, when I was using another software to import/export for just one photo. Today I can’t view from my photo from my 3rd disk (for backup)…

  2. I wound up making several LR catalogues (50K max) to accommodate all my files and so as not to slow it down. I color code my images 3 ways. Green for best, yellow next, blue thinking about it. I also like to make lots of collections so I know where the work has gone and for what. I am a huge fan of keywords: location, name of subject (bird name with scientific name) and more. I also map my images in LR for geo-coordinates. Finally, I process a select few in Photoshop and may use onOne add-on too. I store my images by location and date. Inside “Central Park 2016” may be a folder “20161203 Central Park.” Inside that folder are 3 folders: JPG, RAW and PSD. After I process my RAW files I export all out to JPGs of 3600 px wide. Those selected for web export as 1200px and store elsewhere.

    • Thank you, Sherry. I was into several catalogs as well. But I prefer the file based system and BR more. I use all other features in LR as well. Was about time to get organized. Appreciate your input. At least you are organized. Smiles. Reinhold

    • Thanks, Simon! That was exactly the way I did it before. But as soon as my images are in LR they are part of my portfolio. With 50000 images that was too much to work effective and performance was slowing down as well. So I used the weeks since yearend to chance that. Never worked with BR before. Has interesting filter features as well. It is easier for me to take images into LR for a reason, than to delete them from LR. Greetings from the North of Germany. Reinhold

Leave a Reply

