Times They Are a Changin

RSP - Reinhold Staden Photography - Shades
© RSP – Reinhold Staden Photography

There will be a few changes. Starting with the image above, all images posted, will show the visible watermark – Reinhold Staden Photography – in the center. I am sorry, but I found several places in the internet where my images have been misused – without permission -. You can even download them “for free”. This is definitely over now. In addition my images are also tagged with “Copyright” information on the file basis in any possible form. In my blog and other internet platforms I will post a 1:1 – 1080 x 1080px (72dpi) format (Instagram). I am sorry for the disturbing watermark but obviously there is no way around. I hope you will still like my images. Reinhold

© RSP – Reinhold Staden Photography

October 2016

39 thoughts on “Times They Are a Changin

  1. Ich habe momentan auch mit Datenklau sowie unerlaubtem Kopieren und Hochladen zu kämpfen. Mir bleibt wohl auch bald keine andere Wahl. Bei deinen qualitativ so hochwertigen Fotos kann ich das doppelt gut verstehen!
    Mir gefallen deine Aufnahmen auch weiterhin, aber es ist wirklich enorm schade, dass Urheberrechte so missachtet werden und gezockt wird, wo es nur geht.

    LG Michèle

    • Liebe Michèle, vielen Dank für Deinen Kommentar und Input. Ich habe eigentlich gar keine Lust und Zeit mich mit diesem Thema zu beschäftigen. Aber ich bin verärgert. Vielleicht reagiere ich auch etwas zu heftig auf dieses “bekannte” Problem. Aber ich hänge an diesen Bildern. Gerade an denen der letzten 2 Monate. Das Wasserzeichen ist eine Lösung. Aber nicht meine favorisierte. Ich sitze gerade mit einem großen Blatt und vielen Stiften am Küchentisch. Brain-Lüftchen. Mal schauen, ob mir etwas für das Gesamtthema einfällt. Bis dahin. LG. Reinhold

  2. What a shame, Reinhold. Cowardly and disrespectful! …and I agree with some other comments here, that your work is with or without a watermark still an outstanding pleasure to watch. But !, because your work is for me always a source of inspiration and they transport so much emotions and carry you away, that this watermark now is a kind of restriction to watch it in your clear and innocent intention. But why not use your excellent and harmonically in the image embedding old watermark. I mean, what did these people do with that one? Did they cut it out. Reducing the size, okay, is one point, but using that new watermark… …it spoils the images!

    • Thanks for your helpful input, Markus. After reading all of the comments (and especially yours) I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon my friend. Greetings. Reinhold
      PS: damit ist die Wasserzeichen wieder raus, aber ich habe noch keine Idee was ich final machen werde. Sitze gerade mit einem großen Blatt Papier und vielen Stiften am Küchentisch. Ein Brain-Lüftchen. 🙂

      • Reinhold do it the brave way! My respect, bro!!! No fear. Don’t let you restrict you by those people. It’s your work, it’s your art, it’s your passion!
        But why do you think it’s not enough to protect your images by size and watermark?
        – the size of 1024 pixel/inch offers an except able appearance and stealing your images allows only a nice print out in postcard size (so I do)
        – the old watermark you use is even upgrading your image and goes excellent with every images without corrupting the message.
        – did you contact those who miss use your photos and scare the shit out of them?!!!

        But I’m sure you will find a way for all your concerns, which makes YOU and US happy again.

        cheers, Markus

      • Special thanks to you, my friend! Followed your advice and reduced my image size and left the rest nearly untouched. We have some work to accomplish… PHOTOGRAPHY. Don’t want to waste my time any longer on that “issue”. Cheers. Reinhold

  3. I’m very sorry to hear your photos are being sold without your permission, Reinhold. It happens a lot, unfortunately. A friend of mine found one of her photos illustrating Christmas cards from a governmental organization in Lebanon (I think). She was in shock. What many photographers have told me, and I’ve also read in various places, is that watermarks do nothing to stop thieves. They have ways of getting rid of them. Copywriting all your images in the files is better but may still not be enough. Thieves usually sell images online from some undisclosed location and after making enough sales they quickly delete their websites and move on to create another one. So they are quite difficult to track… Having said all that, I don’t think your watermark affects the quality of your shots. And if they help in any way to discourage thieves, it’s better than nothing. Last but not least, this is a beautiful image!

    • Thanks for your helpful input, Angela. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon. Greetings. Reinhold

  4. It’s too bad you had to deal with someone using your images like that. It doesn’t interfere with my viewing experience in the slightest. What a gorgeous photo.

    • Thanks for your helpful input and that you like my image, Amy. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon. Greetings. Reinhold.

    • Thanks for your helpful input, Charlie. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon. Greetings. Reinhold

    • Thanks for your helpful input, Robyn. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon. Greetings. Reinhold

    • Thanks for your helpful input, Lena. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon. Greetings. Reinhold

    • Thanks for your helpful input. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon. Greetings. Reinhold

  5. I’ve been thinking of changing mine as well as I’ve also found mine littered around without permission. 😦 I use to post a 1,000px longest side but moved up to 2048. I think I might go back again and also change my WM. It’s not too obtrusive. Your photos are beautiful and I love how the water blends into the sky and the light emanates strongly from one point where the sun is behind the fog.

    • Thanks for your most helpful input, Laura. I am currently sitting with a big piece of white paper and markers at my kitchen table trying to find a solution for the “problem”. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … > 2000 px is a huge format and I think you can easily print an A4 format with this size. Especially if the watermarks are positioned at the bottom of the image. Simple to be cropped out. Not an easy subject. Smiles and a nice weekend. Reinhold 🙂

      • Wow…I SWORE I responded to this yet it appears I haven’t. I wonder how long this has been going on. I noticed something yesterday on someone else’s blog and thought I didn’t remember correctly but now I wonder about WP accepting my responses. Grrr. lol. Yes it’s a conundrum with all this watermarking!

      • Laura, I don’t know what’s going on here. I don’t see some comments in my reader but in my posts. Yours ended up in the SPAM folder. But only 2 of yours. I get no answer to some of my comments. I think the above happens to others as well. Strange. I have to check my posts to see if I missed any comments. Sorry about that. 🙂

      • Oh ok! I thought I was going nuts. Glad to see I still have my faculties! No worries. Things like this happen to me too sometimes and then they miraculously go away.

    • Thanks for your helpful input. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon. Greetings. Reinhold

  6. Of course I will still ‘love’ your images. It is a shame you have to do this to discourage those who are stealing them. I am not surprised, however. There is no way to protect anything once it is on the internet.

    • Thanks for your helpful input, Sheila. After reading all of the comments I think the watermark will change the character / presentation of my images. And… there is no solution to “protect” the images against misuse. I think I have to accept that some people might use my images for their purposes without asking for permission… or I have to stop publishing my images in the internet. I don’t like both aspects. I have to think about my approach for a while and work out a solution which will solve some of the issues I have. I know I will not find a solution for all of my concerns. But it is not restricted to WordPress. It also affects my homepage(s), shop, Instagram, … Thanks again for your very helpful input and see you soon. Greetings. Reinhold

Leave a Reply

