Using Lee Seven5 filter system at Lake Zwischenahner Meer

Location:
Lake Zwischenahner Meer, Ammerland, North Germany

Date:
August 26, 2016

Time:
19:30 – 20:30

Gear:
Fuji X-T1, 14mm f2.8, Lee lens adapted and filter holder, ND Grad. 0.6 Hard (2 stops), Big Stopper (10 stops), Manfrotto tripod, cable release

The Plan:
Long exposure photographs of pier and boats at lake “Zwischenahner Meer”.  I created my vision with a sketch app (Sketches) of my iPad.

RSP - Reinhold Staden Photography - Boats
RSP – Reinhold Staden Photography – Boats

Estimated shots: 4

1 bracket shot (no filter) 3 exposures -1 +-0 +1

1 focused on foreground (no filter)

1 focused on pier and boats (no filter)

1 long exposure (30-240 sec) f8-16

 

And here are two results:

RSP - Reinhold Staden Photography - Boats

RSP - Reinhold Staden Photography - Boats

I was lucky to meet 3 young men who were fishing at the lake. One of these guys positioned the net for me in the foreground. Very helpful!

© RSP – Reinhold Staden Photography

August 2016

21 thoughts on “Using Lee Seven5 filter system at Lake Zwischenahner Meer

    • Yes, I do, Dina. We run a holiday apartment in the Ammerland. One service is a guided tour (workshop) to visit all the special places in the Ammerland and the World Heritage Wadden Sea (Wattenmeer) and to talk about various aspects of photography. A few guests have already tried the “easy” version, because they were absolute beginners. I love to run these workshops because I was an IT consultant and I did a lot of training and education work. I am also planning to offer a workshop via Internet. But I am still working on this one. Liebe Grüsse. Reinhold

    • Thanks, Lena! In nearly all other samples I would follow your root. In this case a decided to leave the second one and the one I posted today in color. I think the tone is quite special. May be it is because I decided to avoid shooting into the sun (sunset). I tend to turn around and look at the reflections of the sunset at the opposite side. The color is lighter and softer. Smiles. Reinhold

Leave a Reply

