First Fujinon prime lens

A few days ago, during my trip to Hamburg, I decided to get my first Fujinon prime lens. It’s one which is not on my published wish list. But the cash back offer was too tempting.

The Super EBC f=35mm 1:1.4 R lens is the 50mm equivalent on a full-frame camera.

I have read a lot about the 35mm lens. Some love it, some hate it. Some say it’s loud, slow and not always sharp, especially at minimum distance. I can not relate to that. My lens is very quiet, fast (fast enough for my purposes) and focus is always accurate. Always! Aperture 1.4 allows me to to take photos in low light conditions. In very low light conditions. It creates an awesome, soft bokeh and the colors are beautiful, intense and vived.

I love this lens already and I think it’s a very good starting point of my personal prime lens lineup.

 

Here 2 sample photos. No RAW files. JPEG out of camera. No film simulation. Cropped only.

Sample Fujinon 35mm 1.4 by Reinhold Staden
Sample Fujinon 35mm 1.4
Sample Fujinon 35mm 1.4 by Reinhold Staden
Sample Fujinon 35mm 1.4

14 thoughts on “First Fujinon prime lens

    • Das ist wahr. Bin sehr froh meine Nikon D800 und 5 Nikon Primes gegen die X-T1 und diese kleinen Goldstücke eingetauscht zu haben. Gesundheit geht vor und die Zentimeter hinter der Kamera sind die entscheidenden. Macht viel Spaß etwas “leichter” unterwegs zu sein. LG. Reinhold

  1. Beautiful bokeh, 1.4! Like the colors and clarity of the first one. Congratulation to your new lens, Reinhold. My Canon 50mm lens allows 1.8. 🙂

    • Thanks Fraggy, I think it will be one of my favs. I did some street photography at night! Absolutely amazing. Still 1/30 to 1/15 secs at 1.4. Portraits and stills will be fine as well. We will see… in the next days.;-)

    • Lots of new possibilities and options with this one. I have to learn more about this lens in the next days and weeks. But I know – it will be fun. Thanks for your nice comment. Greetings. Reinhold

Leave a Reply

