Neighborhood walk – meadows, pools, fields and forest

(17 photos)

Today it was windy, rainy and cloudy. I still wanted to take my Fuji X-T1 for a walk. Living in the area for 10 months now, I decided to do a neighborhood walk.

I left our house, crossed the main road  of our village and followed this road for half a mile. I turned left into a narrow road and after another half a mile it ended in a public footpath. I have never been there before. I didn’t expected much … so close to our home and the village.

I was surprised to see so many beautiful and interesting things:

Grey Horse by Reinhold Staden
Grey horse

The path continued via a small bridge to lush meadows.

Bridge to Lush Meadows by Reinhold Staden
Bridge and footpath to lush meadows

And there it was … the black horse. A heavy horse or cold-blooded horse.

Heavy Horse by Reinhold Staden
Heavy or cold-blooded horse

But I was on my way to the meadows. The footpath turned into a beaten path.

Meadows by Reinhold Staden
Meadows
Meadows by Reinhold Staden
Meadows
Meadows by Reinhold Staden
Meadows

The path continued to a small pool. Because I didn’t expected any birds I scared away a gray heron. Next time I will be more carful. I enjoyed looking at the pool. Nobody there … except me.

Small Pool by Reinhold Staden
Small pool

The path opened up and I followed a sand path into the fields and the forest.

Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood
Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood
Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood
Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood
Forest in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden-12
Forest in the neighborhood

On my way back the weather changed and the sun came out. I took the same way back as I came, because the street ended in the forest.

Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood
Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood
Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood
Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood
Fields in the neighborhood by Reinhold Staden
Fields in the neighborhood

That’s it for today. I hope you enjoyed the virtual walk through my neighborhood. It started rainy, windy and cloudy and ended in an amazing walk 1 mile from home.

A gallery with all photos attached

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16 thoughts on “Neighborhood walk – meadows, pools, fields and forest

    • Thanks Angela. Not really paradise …. but a beautiful spot in the northern part of Germany. The Ammerland is a small district close to the North Sea. The town where I live is Wiefelstede. And as usual, I only show the nicest spots through my lens. But I start enjoying to live here. Smiles. Reinhold

    • Thanks Emma. If London would be in a close driving distance it would be perfect. So I can only return your comment back to you and your posts. Greetings from the north of Germany. Reinhold

  1. Your neighborhood is stunning! I’m so glad that you showed it to us. It just goes to show that you don’t have to travel to exotic destinations to get great photos. Sometimes, you don’t have to go further than your back yard 🙂

    • It was a surprise for me as well, Melissa. I know that place from a small, old sign for months now. And yesterday I decided to follow this sign. The big lakes, the north sea and beautiful villages are not far away. So I tent to go there. May be I should change that and have a look what else is in my back yard. There is an additional advantage. The place where I can get delicious ice-cream is always nearby. So guess where I will go after these walks. 😉

  2. a fab walk, it’s nice to explore where you live, I especially like the lonely lake, and the black horse. Heron’s are quite predictable and if you go around the same time tomorrow I bet you’d see him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

