Photography and post processing with iPhone and iPad

The iProject – photography and post processing with iPhone and iPad

A herniated disc and a nearly disabled right arm forces me to concentrate on existing material and the use of “very light camera gear”. It will not stop me to continue taking photos and working with my blog. And, in a few weeks it will be over and everything will be back to “normal”. 🙂

My iPhone (5s) has recommended itself to be my 3rd camera (1st: Nikon D800, 2nd: Fuji X100). My iPhone – my always with me – camera. I mainly use it in good weather and light conditions and indoor (like museums, cathedrals, castles,…). It has produced some stunning landscape photos and indoor images. I have used it for street photography also, but in this particular area my X100 does a much better job.

I “normally” work with Lightroom, Photoshop CC and the NIK Collection for post processing, but I think my iPad (mini) and available apps make it worthwhile to dig a little bit deeper into the functionality and results of these apps. So, every week on Wednesday (CET), I will a) post a photo (taken with my iPhone) and b) a post processing result (created with my iPad).
If I use a special app for capturing a photo or for processing, I will add a short description and review of this app. Always as a “user” of hardware and software, not as a professional photographer or technical writer.

Today I post a photo taken on our trip with our caravan in 2014 (3 Month in England, Scotland, Wales) and a processed monochrome picture using Snapseed.

Today’s iPhone Picture

Camera App of iPhone
Standard adjustments in Lightroom 5

My opinion: a pretty good result for a smartphone camera.

The photo shows the Hardknott Pass that carries a minor road between Eskdale and the Duddon Valley in the region of Cumbria, England, in the Lake District National Park. The road approaching the pass shares the title of steepest road in England with a gradient of about 33%.

iphone-project-20140606-11

 

Today’s retouched iPhone photo using Snapseed on my iPad mini

Converted to Black & White
Exposure +5
Details + 5
Drama + 10
Selective adjustment – Exposure + 5 for the left side foreground trees

I like Snapseed, because it is free to use and has the option to define areas for selective adjustments.

The photo shows Ullswater, a lake in the Lake District in the region of Cumbria, England.

IMG_0072

 

 

Next week a will post a photo taken with the app “ProCamera” and a post processing sample with “Photo fx”.

Cu next week!